Directories Calendar Contents Search Help Wake Forest University

Physicist wins Nobel in Medicine

The 2003 Nobel Prize for Medicine has been awarded to Paul C. Lauterbur,a physical chemist, and Sir Peter Mansfield, a physicist, for their contributions to magnetic resonance imaging(MRI). See PC Lauterbur, “Image formation by induced local interactions: Examples employing nuclear magnetic resonance,” Nature 242, 190-191(1973) and P Mansfield, “Multiplanar image formation using NMR spin echoes”, J. Phys C: Solid State Physics 10, L55-L58(1977).

Students who have taken our Physics of Medical Imaging class are well familiar with these men and their work.

For more, see