Congratulations to Deborah Waldron

Physics alumna wins the Marcellus Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award

The Marcellus Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award is given annually to the two Wake Forest alumni who are exemplary classroom teachers in public or private schools. Established in 1994, the award is named in honor of Professor Emeritus Marcellus Waddill and funded by his son, David. The Waddill Award offers one of the largest monetary awards -- $20,000 to each winner -- of any teacher recognition award in the country.

This year's winners are Deborah Waldron and Diedre Steed. Deborah graduated in 1990 with a B.S. degree in physics. She teaches physics at Yorktown High School in Alexandria Virginia. Diedre Steed, Class of '88, teaches kindergarten at Candor Elementary in Candor, NC.

WaldronRec2.jpg 7.3K
Deborah with Physics faculty

WaldronRec8.jpg 4.8K
Professor Emeritus Marcellus Waddill

WaldronRec10.jpg 4.3K
Bob Evans reads from letters of recommendation

WaldronRec11.jpg 7.6K

WaldronRec12.jpg 5.7K

WaldronRec13.jpg 4.7K

WaldronRec14.jpg 6.2K
Deborah Waldron and Diedre Steed

WaldronRecSplash1.jpg 10.8K