WFU Department of Physics Wake Forest University


Wake Forest Physics
Nationally recognized for teaching excellence;
internationally respected for research advances;
a focused emphasis on interdisciplinary study and close student-faculty collaboration.

Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Prof. Jurchescu with President HatchAssistant Professor of Physics Oana Jurchescu, who joined the faculty in 2009, was awarded the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes faculty who are in the early part of their careers. Her teaching style was described by her students as “challenging and rewarding”. Her students have given her many superlatives in describing her teaching. Some examples include:

  • “I would definitely rate her as one of my favorite teachers at Wake.”
  • “Awesome professor who cares about her students.”
  • "Dr. J has a great passion for physics and has a great ability to relate to the class."
  • "Professor Jurchescu was extremely good at keeping the class engaged and interested during the lectures. She was well organized for every class."

Provost Rogan Kersh finished announcing the award with a quote from one of Dr. Jurchescu's past students who wrote: “She encourages her students to give their best and to extend their reach, never accepting ‘good enough.’”

The Physics Department has now four winners on the Reid-Doyle Prize for Excellence in Teaching: William C. Kerr (1976), Rick Matthews (1982), Martin Guthold (2005), Oana Jurchescu (2013)

Physics Department Reid-Doyle Award Winners


horizontal bar
blank spacer
100 Olin Physical Laboratory
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27109-7507
Phone: (336) 758-5337, FAX: (336) 758-6142