WFU Department of Physics Wake Forest University


Wake Forest Physics
Nationally recognized for teaching excellence;
internationally respected for research advances;
a focused emphasis on interdisciplinary study and close student-faculty collaboration.

Honors, Awards, and
Graduate Recognition Day

April 29, 2015

The Department of Physics celebrated the initiation of new Sigma Pi Sigma members, upcoming graduates, honored the outstanding teaching assistants, Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award and Speas Award winner, and heard presentations from our honors graduates.

Please visit this link for photos highlighting the event.

Congratulations to the William E. Speas Memorial Award winner:

Abdulmalik Obaid

Outstanding Teaching Assistants:

Stephen Baker
Wei Li

Outstanding Peer Mentor:

Jeremy Ward

Physics Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award:

Professor Martin Guthold

ΣΠΣ inductees:

Nathan J. Beets
Kathleen T. DiNapoli
Angela F. Harper
Jacori R. Hayes
Tomas M. Lucioni
John R. Markham
Ryan L. Melvin
Julia W. Minnetian
Harsh H. Patolia

Honors Graduates:

John R. Einhorn
Derek M. Fogel
Erica C. Freund
Leegan Lim
Andrew J. Lundeen
William P. Nicholson
Abdulmalik M. Obaid
Kelli N. Simms
William G. Thompson
Andy Vuong
Xinran Zhang


Go to top of page


horizontal bar
blank spacer
100 Olin Physical Laboratory
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27109-7507
Phone: (336) 758-5337, FAX: (336) 758-6142