WFU Department of Physics Wake Forest University

 

Wake Forest Physics
Nationally recognized for teaching excellence;
internationally respected for research advances;
a focused emphasis on interdisciplinary study and close student-faculty collaboration; committed
to a diverse and inclusive environment.

WFU Physics Colloquium Schedule -- Fall 2015

Previous and future colloquia


All seminars will be held at 4 PM in Room 101 of Olin Physical Laboratory (unless noted otherwise); there will be refreshments at 3:30 PM in the lobby prior to each seminar.

Wed. Aug. 26, 2015 Welcome and Summer Research Presentations 3:45 PM

Wed. Sept. 2, 2015 -- Physics Research I: Lab tours --

Wed. Sept. 9, 2015 -- Physics Research II: Lab tours --

Wed. Sept. 16, 2015 -- Nicholas Kurniawan, University of Eindhoven -- Breaking down (and reintegrating) the role of cell and matrix mechanics in cell-matrix interactions -- (host: M. Guthold)

Fri. Sept. 18, 2015 -- Nicholas Lepley, Ph. D. Thesis Defense -- First principles investigations of solid-solid interfaces in lithium battery materials 2:30 PM in Olin 101 (mentor: N. A. W. Holzwarth)

Wed. Sept. 23, 2015 -- Ivan Agullo, Louisiana State University -- The Observable Universe, Gravity, and the Quantum -- (host: P. Anderson)

Wed. Sept. 30, 2015 -- Nicholas Lepley, WFU -- Investigating Li-ion solid electrolytes using simulations based on density functional theory

Wed. Oct. 7, 2015 -- Physics Research III --

Wed. Oct. 14, 2015 -- Sergii Gridin, WFU -- Luminescence spectroscopy methods in analysis of scintillation mechanisms

Wed. Oct. 21, 2015 -- Sung-Jin Cho, Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering, North Carolina A&T State University, Greensboro, NC. -- Micro to Nanoscale Surface Evolution on Lithium-Ion Batteries -- (host: N. Holzwarth)

Wed. Oct. 28, 2015 -- Chris Kimmer, Indiana University Southeast Effect of interfacial adhesive layers on thermal transport in model systems -- (host: N. Holzwarth)

Wed. Nov. 4, 2015 -- Elaheh Rahbar, WFU School of Medicine -- The response to traumatic injuries: A journey down the road less traveled -- (host: D. Kim-Shapiro)

Wed. Nov. 11, 2015 -- David Montgomery, WFU -- Coupled improvement between thermoelectric and piezoelectric materials

Wed. Nov. 18, 2015 -- Clara Santato, Polytechnique Montreal -- Melanin pigments: a route towards environmentally benign electronics -- (host: O. Jurchescu)

Wed. Nov. 25, 2015 -- Thanksgiving Holiday --

Wed. Dec. 2, 2015 -- Siegmar Roth, University of Texas, Dallas -- Symmetry in Carbon Nanomaterials: from Solitons to Pseudo-Spin -- (host: D. Carroll)

Fri. Dec. 4, 2015 -- Chad McKell, M. S. Thesis Defense -- Confinement and Tracking of Brownian Particles in a Bessel Beam Standing Wave 2:00 PM in Olin 101 (mentor: Keith Bonin)


Tentative schedule -- please check announcements and abstracts of seminars.

Previous and future colloquia


horizontal bar blank spacer
100 Olin Physical Laboratory
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27109-7507
Phone: (336) 758-5337, FAX: (336) 758-6142
E-mail:
wfuphys@wfu.edu